Tags

, , , , , , ,

As I write this, my stomach trembles with glee! I start cosmetology school this evening! I am so elated, and I have never been happier about going to school. I have a degree in Mechanical Engineering and a Master of Business Administration but neither got the emotional reaction from me that starting this journey has gotten. There is something truly amazing about operating in your purpose! I love hair, I love people, I love service, and that is what being a cosmetologist is all about. I have always heard the quote ” Do something you love, and you’ll never work a day in your life”, it’s so cliché but it is beginning to become true and real to me. Will it be a cake walk? I’m sure it won’t, but I am willing and determined and that is half the battle already won.

Hair comes naturally to me, and I love a stylist that has skills because it’s not always easy dealing with the people or heads of hair that sit your chair! A good stylist is also hard to find, it took me seven years to find one who could give me a good wash, blowout and press. I am excited to get the theory, license and education behind the natural ability.

My first investment in my dream is a new pair of comfy shoes to stand in all night at school, my Dansko Clogs. They come highly recommended by nurses who spend all day on their feet. At first, I wasn’t quite sure if I wanted to invest $100 in these “not cute” shoes, but I just can’t have aching feet or back pain.  “It’s a small price to pay to avoid varicose veins, foot and back pain” says my husband. We shall see!

Dansko Women's Pro XP Clog,Ebony,40 EU/9.5-10 M US

I can’t wait to get my kit and scrubs. What naturalista doesn’t love new hair goodies?! I am so excited to share my journey with you all and I am committed to picking back up with my posts to share my knowledge and love for hair! Follow me on instagram @natural_iam !

Peace!

Lina