Tags

, , , , , ,

I was getting ready to go out for Happy Hour with my girlfriends and had planned to do a wash n’ go but somehow I messed up the order of the way I’m supposed to apply my products. Needless to say, the order in which you put products in your hair can really make or break your style. Faced with a producty stiff hair, I decided to do a updo with a $4.99 pack of Marley Braid hair. It’s a good idea to keep some stashed away to hard times like these.

Here’s what I used: 1 Pack of Marley Braid Hair, 3 elastic bands (1 for the ponytail, 2 for the Marley Braid Hair), Ecostyler Gel, Brush, and lots of Bobbi Pins.

Put your hair into a high ponytail and make to big twists. Bantu knot the two big twists and pin them down at the base of the ponytail, one toward the front (for the bang) and one toward the back (for the updo). Tie the pony tail up with scarf and let it sit for 5-10 minutes.

Remove the hair from the pack and divide it into to halves.

Next, take an elastic bands and loop them around the hair, making sure the length is even as possible on both sides.

Take the open loops of the two Marley Braid bundles and place one around each of the two knots. One bundle will be used to create the updo and the other with be for the bang portion.

Ok, now the construction of the updo is some what of a free style (which is why I don’t have many pics of it). Pin the front bundle down at the base of the ponytail in the front to keep the bundle spread out for a wide bang. Wrap the back bundle around both big knots once and over the top to cover the knots. To make the bang, I do sort of a pin curl and secure it to the right of my up do. The important thing about this style is securing it with Bobbi pins. Every so often, I would give my head a shake to see if the updo is holding up.

I love this style because you can make it your own every single time! No two updos are ever the same yet they are all beautiful. I’ve worn it a few times before.

This style is effortlessly chic!

Lina