Tags

, , , , ,

I had the pleasure to watch the Democratic National Convention last night. It was so wonderful to see so much passion from everyday people as well as political figures. The audience was filled with a rainbow of colors and races of people all there for a common cause. I loved it, but let’s get to the shining star of the night, First Lady of the United States Michelle Obama. She was thought-provoking, sincere, passionate, compassionate and stunning to say the least.

Some key notes from the FLOTUS…

” I loved Barack just the way he was. You see, even back then, when Barack was a Senator and presidential candidate, to me, he was still the guy who picked me up for our dates in a car that was so rusted out, I could actually see the pavement going by in a hole in the passenger side door.”

What an example of being there in the trenches for a man who you see promise in. Emphasis on the promise, and not someone who sells dreams only to never satisfy them.

“…how hard you work matters more than how much you make. That helping others means more than just getting ahead yourself.”

I’m willing to guess that the fulfillment of our purposes in life have less to do with how much we make and more to do with how we use the blessings we have to help others.

 

“I have seen firsthand that being president does not change who you are. No, it reveals the you are.”

I can’t imagine being in the presidents shoes surrounded with hard decisions, critical peers, people and the media [which has two horns and pitchfork] day in and day out. My dad would always tell me “It’s not how you do what you want to do in life, it’s how you do the things you don’t want to do, that makes the difference.” How do you make tough decisions? Are you ok with making right and unpopular choices? I have not always made the right choices for fear of being unpopular. Because of this I learned that it is not a choice that ends well, and I try to do what is right and well with my soul. There is strength in truth, and it’s a hard lesson to learn if you don’t put it to the test.

“So when it comes to rebuilding our economy, Barack is thinking about folks like my dad and like his grandmother. He’s thinking about the pride that comes from a hard day’s work. That is why he signed the Lilly Ledbetter Fair Pay Act to help women get equal pay for equal work.”

This topic is dear to me because I am a woman. I am one of only two women in my entire department and the only African-American woman in the department. I pride myself on not making excuses to not step up and do my best, and going the extra mile to get educated, study and show myself approved. Sadly, as much as gird myself with training and education, there is not a chance that I’ll get what is owed to me if companies see fit to not pay women equally for work if they are qualified and doing the same work as a man. Women make 0.77 cents for every $1 that men make, some while doing the same job for a longer time. This is a slap in the face to women who have become [and some who have always been] the bread-winner in families and sometimes juggle, work, school, children and some cases aging parents.

Standing ovation for the First Lady of the United States of America! She was fierce in many ways!!! She is a role model, not just for African American women but for ALL women. She and other women to have accomplished so much in life after humble beginnings are proof that no matter where you come from or what you’ve done you can still shine!

Have a great day!

Lina

