Tags

, , , , ,

Okay, so last night I did my daily search of you tube for natural hair videos to get motivated to tame the beast on my head…I ran across “Kimmaytube Leave-in” its a simple recipe calling for:

  • 2 tablespoons of YOUR preferred conditioner (silicone free)
  • 2 tablespoons of (Whole leaf version) Aloe Vera Juice with a pH 4.0 or 4.5
  • 2 teaspoons of Castor Oil (optional. I sometimes do without it)
  • 2 tablespoons of (Whole leaf version) Aloe Vera Juice with a pH 4.0 or 4.5

but… it was late and I only had…

  • 2 tablespoons of Aussie moist conditioner
  • 2 tablespoons of (Whole leaf version) Aloe Vera Juice
  • 2 tablespoons of Vatika Oil (coconut oil)
  • 2 tablespoons of grapeseed oil

I twisted my hair with the concoction and everything looked fine, but I had an inkling that the twist out wouldn’t be as define as I like because of the absence of a heavy sealant that my hair needs, like a mango butter, shea butter or good old DAX grease. Boy was I right!!! And my hair was so wrong when I took the twists down. The mixture was way to light and thin for my highly porous hair. My hair didn’t completely dry. In my opinion it was because of the heavily oiled mix that locked the moisture in, even though I slept without a bonnet on a silk pillow to avoid wet hair. As soon as I took my twists down, the frizz attacked like a rabid dog! I ended up bunning, thank God for fail proof styles.

It’s a shame because the twists looked so promising…maybe I’ll try again when I get the right ingredients, I thought that my hair would love the modified version because coconut and grapeseed oil are my hair’s faves, but I guess not like this. Sorry I didn’t snap a picture of the frizz ball on my head, I was too busy being pissed. I only have before and after.

The bun wasn’t a bad recovery, but I was just too excited about this modified leave-in. LOL. I had to tell myself to get over my self this morning.

Have a good one!

Lina

