Check out this Post by into mind! Great for relationships of any type!

into mind

Since I started studying Psychology more than 4 years ago, I have come across lots and lots of different theories. The one that has definitely had the biggest impact on my everyday behaviour is the theory of thought polarisation, which describes how opinions diverge over time. Understanding the underlying mechanisms of this phenomena can truly revolutionize your relationships by saving you many pointless arguments with your boyfriend, husband, friends or family!

What is thought polarisation?

Thought polarisation occurs when during a conversation two people reach a topic which they disagree on, but only slightly. The longer they keep talking about it, the more they will disagree. “I don’t quite like xyz as much as you do, I’m pretty neutral towards it actually” can quickly turn into “Omg I hate xyz, I cannot believe you are into xyz, you must be totally (insert insulting adjective)”. Try to spot this pattern in…

View original post 412 more words

